Board of Trustees

Download 2022 School Charter

Ōrākei School Board Responsibilities

The Ōrākei School Board is responsible for the governance of our school in partnership with the Principal, who is responsible for managing the day-to-day operation of the school.

The Board’s key responsibilities include:

  • establishing and reviewing the School Charter comprising the vision and values for our school
  • establishing and reviewing the strategic plan for the school every three years
  • approving and monitoring the progress of the annual plan for the school, which is aimed at achieving the strategic plan
  • financial and property management
  • curriculum management
  • health and safety
  • monitoring and enhancing student achievement to ensure that every student at the school is able to attain their highest possible educational achievement;
  • establishing and reviewing policies and procedures for the school
  • being a good employer, specifically in respect of the appointment, support, development, and appraisal of the Principal

The Board’s responsibilities are set out in the Education and Training Act 2020 as well as other legislation and regulations.


The Board’s vision is to promote personal wellbeing so that we prepare our students/akonga so that they are academically, socially, and emotionally ready for their next step in their learning journey.

The school’s goal is to nurture excellence with kindness through six core values:

  • respect/whakaute
  • inquiring minds/pākihi hinengaro
  • self-belief/tōku whakapono
  • excellence/kairangi
  • creativity/auahatanga
  • kindness/atawhai

The strategic focus areas identified by the Board for 2022-2023 are:

  • curriculum development
  • student learning
  • partnership and culture
  • digital technology development

Board Members

Members of the Board are elected every three years. The Board comprises the Principal, a staff-elected member, and five parent-elected member. Co-opted members are optional.

The current members of the Board (as at 5 May 2022) are:

Shanthan Naidu (Principal)
Diane Ah-Chan (presiding member, parent-elected member)
Rick Agraval (treasurer, parent-elected member)
Te Arepa Morehu (parent-elected member)
Todd Keenan (parent-elected member)
Sharleen Mischefski (parent-elected member)
Elise Copeland (parent-elected member)
Philip Venables (parent-elected member)
Jonelle Koia (co-opted member)
Anthony Hall (staff representative)

The Board Secretary is Diane Harrison


Board meetings are usually held at 7pm on the third Monday of every month in the Staff Room. Meetings are open to the public and parents, caregivers and whānau are welcome to attend as observers.

The meeting dates for 2024 are: 

12 February 2024
11 March 2024
8 April 2024
10 June 2024
12 August 2024
9 September 2024
21 October 2024
11 November 2024
9 December 2024


The Board can be contacted through the Principal or by email at